Posted by: vlibrizzi | September 24, 2009

Lebanese Week: Hummus, Baklava, and Belly Dancing

This week at INSEAD is the Lebanese national week, and for the events, the Lebanese students have put together many different cultural activities for the INSEAD community to get to know their culture. For example, yesterday they offered belly dancing lessons, they had a Lebanese breakfast at the bar one morning, they had a Lebanese wine tasting event, and they had a shwarma lunch one day. But the highlight of the week was yesterday’s Lebanese dinner. 

The dinner was catered by a famous Lebanese restaurant in Paris called Noura. We started with a first course of hummus, pita, stuffed grape leaves, taboule, and some other things that looked like dumplings (not sure what they were called). Then, while we were waiting for the main course to come out, the DJ and a belly dancer entertained us. I had never seen a belly dancer before and I was truly amazed at how quickly she moved her hips. I have no idea how she did it! 

Then, for dinner we had a chicken dish with soft, fluffy rice with some more pita bread. The chicken was wonderful and so lightly spiced that it melted in your mouth. And for dessert—baklava!

So, as you can tell from my gushing post, I’ve definitely become a fan of Lebanese food…and if I could only get my hips to move a bit more quickly, I think I could become a fan of their dancing too 🙂

Responses

  1. Hi Val! nice to see you recovered from the belly dancing..
    I uploaded some pics to my facebook account:
    http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=109788&id=697147814&l=d11fea9d11

    BTW, the dumpling thingies are called Kubé.


Leave a Reply

Categories

