Posted by: vlibrizzi | September 6, 2009

My first VF

I did it! 

Yesterday, I went into Paris with some friends, went to the cinema at Les Halles, and saw a film…in French! 

I have been to the theater twice already while living here in France, but I always chickened out at the last minute and saw a film in VO (original version = English with French subtitles). But, I had a goal to try to understand a film in French, so I’ve been borrowing films from one of my French professors for a few months now, and watching the films in French with French subtitles (sometimes they talk so fast, I can’t understand what they’re saying, so the subtitles help with that). 

So when we were at the theater yesterday, a friend encouraged me to see La-Haut! (or Up!, the Pixar film) with her in French yesterday, and I thought I’d try it out. It was time.

Luckily, my first French film, was 1. an American film dubbed in French, and 2. an animated film geared towards 5 year olds….so it wasn’t the most difficult choice for my first French film experience. 

But, I loved the it! I laughed and cried at the correct parts, and for the most part, understood the whole thing. 

I left the cinema with head held a little bit higher. 

Goal # 23: see a French film—check!

Leave a Reply

Categories

