Posted by: vlibrizzi | June 3, 2009

My new project

Yesterday afternoon as I was leaving my apartment, my little, old French neighbor, Denise, opened her door and asked me to come in.

She ushered me into her kitchen and began talking to me about cooking. From a previous conversation, she knew how much I wanted to learn how to cook French food. She told me about how before she became sick and houseridden, she used to teach cooking classes in Fontainebleau. Many INSEAD partners would attend her classes and she has so many stories about people who have returned after many years, knocked on her door, and told her that they remember her cooking lessons…and that she really taught them how to cook.

Then, she told me that she wants to help me learn how to cook French food too, and then she gave me the most amazing gift: the cookbook that she wrote!

As most of you know, one of my major goals in moving to France was to learn how to cook French food. I have been toying around with enrolling in French cooking courses, but couldn’t find any programs that weren’t ridiculously expensive. But, now that I have Denise’s book and her as my helpful neighbor, I can learn how to make her French recipes!  Luckily, most of the recipes are translated into English, but for those few that aren’t, I’ll get to finally put my Sorbonne skills to good use.

I think I’m going to start by trying to make Canard a L’Orange en Magret tomorrow night for dinner. I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am to begin!

Leave a Reply

Categories

