Posted by: vlibrizzi | May 23, 2009

Mickey and Minnie a Paris

IMG_2587To take a break from studying for my exams (and to procrastinate a little bit more!), C. and I joined some friends yesterday at Disneyland Paris (see us and a friend in front of Sleeping Beauty’s castle to the left)! I had to twist C.’s arm to go, but at the end of the day, he told me that he had a really good time…so that makes me happy. But again, who couldn’t be happy at the “happiest place on Earth”?

The thing that struck me most about Disneyland Paris was how similar it is to any other Disney park. It has the same rides (like Big Thunder Mountain), the same corney events (Mickey’s Magical Parade, anyone?), and the same sights (like Sleeping Beauty’s castle). The only difference is that all the characters speak in French! 

IMG_2589C’s favorite ride was the Buzz Lightyear ride where you get to shoot your lazer gun at targets. He clearly beat my score…and looks really scary with a lazer gun, doesn’t he?

And my favorite ride was Space Mountain: Episode 2. I love the Space Mountain roller coaster in DisneyWorld. But this episode 2 coaster is a totally different story! You get shot up high into the air then careen through a dark cavern making loops, and passing past planets, etc. It was amazing! I wish we could have gone on it more than once, but as with all Disney parks, the lines were ridiculously long. 

IMG_2592Near the end of our day, C. and I went on the It’s A Small World ride (photo to the left). I don’t know, but being in France, and at INSEAD too, with so many people from all around the world, I felt really connected to It’s a Small World this time around. As we were boating past so many countries on the ride, and as we spent our day with friends from Pakistan to Australia, I couldn’t help but think how true the song really is….

Leave a Reply

Categories

