Posted by: vlibrizzi | April 13, 2009

Lost in Translation: Doodoo

Today while I was over a friend’s house for the cooking club, as I mentioned in my previous post, I spent some time playing with her two lovely daughters while our Pakistani food was cooking on the stove. 

Her oldest daughter (age 3) was playing with her sister (8 months) and gave her a plastic, toy bottle. 

With her big eyes, she looked up at me and said, “Look, my sister is drinking doodoo!”

Instinctively, I corrected her and said, “No, your sister is not drinking doodoo.”

She then turned her face up to me and gave me a quizzical look. She paused, and said again, “My sister is drinking doodoo!”

Feeling compelled to correct this girl’s mistake that her sister was not, in fact, eating human excrement, I said more sternly, “No, she is drinking milk, not doodoo.”

Her babysitter, my friend, came over at that exact moment, catching the tail end of our conversation and told me, “In Urdu, doodoo means milk.”

No wonder the poor little girl was so confused.

She must have thought I was crazy.

Responses

  1. Val, I had the same thing happen a few nights ago! I was like, “umm…uh oh, is she saying doodoo?” and my husband had to point out that yes, she was, and that, yes, I also should remember that “Doodh,” is milk in Hindi/Urdu.

    Even better, he didn’t get why I was concerned upon hearing that word, because HE didn’t realize that’s what we American use as a “baby word,” for a number two.
    Whoops.


Leave a Reply

Categories

