Posted by: vlibrizzi | March 18, 2009

Lapping up the sunshine…

img_2031The sun has come out in full force here in France, and I couldn’t be more thrilled. I’ve been trying to take advantage of the great weather over the past few days by spending as much time as I can outside. 

Today, for example, I started my day by running around the canal on the Fontainebleau chateau grounds with two of my friends. Unfortunately, I didn’t bring my camera with me during the run, but so you can see what the canal footpath looks like, I inserted a photo of C. (to the right) walking on the paths a few months ago….when we used to  wear winter coats 🙂
Then, I spent some time chatting with friends outside on the chateau grounds and enjoying even more of the warm sun, before hurrying home to shower and catch the train into Paris for class. 

img_2204Before class, I met up with a friend who lives in Paris for lunch near the Luxembourg Gardens (which is actually very close to my school). We ate outside at a small cafe, and then had some time to spare before my grammar class began so we decided  to walk in the Luxembourg Gardens (you can see my friend photographed in the garden in the photo to the right).

img_2208There were SO MANY people in the Gardens today!  So many, in fact, that we were wondering how all these Parisians had the time to sit in the gardens and read books in the afternoon. French schoolchildren do not have class on Wednesday afternoons (and instead of afternoon classes on Wednesday, have classes on Saturday morning), but there weren’t many teenagers around.

 

img_2206No, it was mostly people in their 20s and 30s, reading books, catching up with each other, playing tennis, monitoring their children in the sandboxes or the enormous jungle gyms, or, as you can see in the photo below (which was, by far, my favorite sight today) teaching their children how to launch a sailboat in the pond.

Responses

  1. Wish I could have met you guys for that walk in Luxembourg Gardens!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

