Posted by: vlibrizzi | January 14, 2009

a french lesson, lots of coffee, and a visit to the boulangerie

Today I had my second french lesson with Madame Flambeau, a sweet old lady who gives private french lessons out of her home in Fontainebleau. We’ve been reviewing the basics and I spent most of the hour with her today learning the difference in sound and pronunciation between e (with an accent), e (with a circumflex), and e (without an accent). For the French, the differences between these sounds are quite clear, and if one makes a mistake in prononciation, it is quite bad….but for me, I still struggle to hear the difference between letters that, to me, all sound like “uh.” 

I spent most of the rest of the day hanging out with friends at C’s campus and talking over lunch, and then coffee, and then some more coffee. I did take a break from all the “coffee talk” by going to the gym for the second time since I’ve been here (a minor accomplishment, I realize). The gym on campus is ok…not a lot of machines or classes, but it suits me fine, and I hope to get my exercise in future by running or hiking in the Fontainebleau forest or walking  in Paris (a.k.a. chasing after busses and running to catch trains)when I start my classes at the Sorbonne in a month. 

 

img_1903 The photo from today is of C. buying our first baguette from the local boulangerie. Since my post yesterday when I decided to start slowing down and enjoying the simple aspects of life more than I had in the past, I decided to buy our daily baguette not from the Monoprix supermarket, but from the bakery across the street. What a great idea that was. The bread was warm and so soft… we ate almost the whole baguette with some camembert and pate and definitely spoiled our dinner…but it was definitely worth it!

Responses

  1. When Natalie returned from her trip to Paris she smuggled in (wrapped very carefully) 6 croissants from the local bakery she had visited every morning. A plane flight later…they were sumptous! I can only imagine how they would taste fresh from the oven. Keep the great stories coming..great picture Chris!! Love Aunt T


Leave a Reply

Categories

